Daily Archives: December 13, 2007

Let it snow…

Here it comes. The first big winter storm ever to hit Troy this year. According to the weatherman, it’s likely to be between 3 to 6 inches. I had a field day with my camera today. Unfortunately my Atiqah is out sick today. Hopefully she’ll feel better soon. Then, we’ll have our own snowball fight. Yeay! πŸ˜€ .

 

What a relief!

Fall 2007’s grades are out today. Alhamdullilah, just like what I was expecting at the beginning of the semester.

Typography
Such a wonderful class. Intelligent professor and great classmates. I was exposed to so many new things which I didn’t know before this (or didn’t bother to know πŸ˜‰ ) on fonts and print materials. I designed a travelog’s website for my final project.
Grade: A

Developing Usability Guidelines
This is an independent study I undertook under the supervision of Prof. Grice. I chose JKR’s website for the usability study. The final report was delivered two weeks before the deadline. My guess is he’s happy with the result; based on the grade I received. I’m planning to share the findings with my colleagues at JKR when I’m back home next year.
Grade: A

Theory in Human Computer Interactions
Initially I took this class in Fall 2006, but dropped it three weeks into the semester. Banyak fening la πŸ˜‰ . Without much background knowledge on HCI, I thought it’ll better if I defer it to Fall 2007. As expected, I was struggling with the readings. Too abstract for me. My final project was on distributed cognition in distance learning education.
Grade: B+

Advance HCI
I love the reading materials for this class: Usability Engineering, The Design of Everyday Things and Leonardo’s Laptop. Good stuff! It’s all about user-centered design. I developed an application’s interface for my final.
Grade: A

Overall, I’m satisfied with the results. Can’t say much about the theory’s class. B+ is rather acceptable to me. After all, you can’t always get what you want in life. Now, I can really enjoy my winter break. Yeay!