Kisah Anak Perantau (Part 1) …

Now that I’ve finally settled down at Shah Alam after all these years of travelling (although there’re still some bags left unopened in the store, huhu), I guess it’s about time for me to reflect back my yesteryears…

The first 17 years
For the first 17 years of my life, Alor Setar was everything to me. I attended my primary school at SRK Iskandar and later I moved on to SMKAK. Quite straight forward, huh? Life was pretty laid back at Alor Setar back then. I can still vividly recall my parents leaving our house in Jalan Sultanah for work at 7:50 am just to punch in at 8:00 am 🙂 .

After receiving my SPM’s results, I began contemplating all the options available for me to continue my tertiary education (result pun cukup makan jer, adalah a few subjects I got A1, the rest asal boleh jer 🙂 ) .

And oh yeah, I don’t know why, but since I was in Form 4, I remember I started collecting newspapers cutting of all the Salam Perantauan’s greeting and wishes from our students who were studying overseas especially from UK. I suspect this was most likely due to my penchant of Liverpool, huhu. Yeah, “You’ll never walk alone”!

Thus, it’s a no-brainer that I went on applying for the one of the scholarship’s spots for studying oversea with my first rank country obviously got to be the Queen Mother country.

1993 – 1995
Alhamdullilah, my application was successful. So, from 1993 till 1995 I was at MSMKL, Cheras to do A-Level. O boy! That was the first time of a few to come that I experienced cultural shock. Living away from my family for the first time in my life was quite an experience and all of a sudden, I found myself mingling around with friends from around the country. All will the same purpose, to do well in our A-Level and then off we go to UK together. Btw, I took Math, Economics and Accountancy.

Late July 1995 the A-Level’s result was out and shortly after it was released I was told that all students who were bound to UK must spend their 1st year in Malaysia first before continuing their 2nd and final year in UK. I was little bit upset but frankly speaking not that much, since I know if we pass our 1st year, Insya Allah we’ll still be heading to UK.

1995/1996
My next phase of life began in September 1995, when off I went to NCUK, Seksyen 6 ,Shah Alam. Life was seriously great and fun over there. Attended classes all morning and maybe some in the afternoon, futsal from 5:00 pm till 7:00 pm and then in the evening studing/discussing/gossiping sampai tidur. Lapar? Worry not, Dawood is open 24/7 with their infamous ayam madu 🙂 …

Leave a Reply

